Echo-1

11 05 2010

So, last weekend, I went to Echo-1, the first ever Dollhouse convention. I had the most amazing time, and I think it has to be the best convention I’ve ever been to.

It was the first convention I’d been to alone, but I made friends quickly. I kept getting told that I was brave for coming alone, but as long as you’re not averse to talking to people, you’re fine.

Friday was the meet and greet session, and I sat with a friendly group of people (who I stuck with for the whole weekend), and we chatted and what not while waiting for the guests to come over.

Tahmoh was first, and seeing as three people on our table were newbies (and therefore silent), and two were just drooling over Tahmoh (not me :P), we didn’t really strike up that much of a conversation. He asked if we were excited about Enver being there, as he was signed up as a surprise guest, and we all said yes, and I said, “but we knew beforehand because Miracle tweeted it,” and he was like, “ohhh, you knew! She knew,” pointing to the camera. Nice to know that went on film.

Then we had Enver. He wouldn’t shut up, which is a good thing, and he’s so damn funny. Seriously. I was nearly crying with laughter in his talk on Saturday with Dichen, love him to bits.

Then we had Fran. One of my table tried to get him to sing, because he made the mistake of saying he could, and his hands went into his hair, his head down, he was so scared. In the end, he apologised and said he couldn’t, and I don’t blame his really! It was his first convention, like Enver, and I would have freaked out too in that situation.

Miracle is glorious, and SO lovely. She’s upbeat all of the time, which is amazing, and she is so beautiful. Dichen was friendly as well, gorgeous, and a great person. I love her accent.

The talks on Saturday were good. Miracle was great, she was born to do conventions. Her fiancée and herself can both play the ukulele, and have their own band, so they played some live music for us, which was amazing, seriously. (Their band is called ‘Uke Box Heroes’, and apparently they’re on myspace and itunes, so check them out :D) Like I said, Enver was hysterical, and him and Dichen live in the same building, so they’re quite close, and can play off each other. Enver was also doing his Fran impressions, which were awesome! And pretty much all the guests talked about how good Enver was at the impressions, especially his Fran one.

In Tahmoh’s talk, I was sitting there, remembering my mission to talk to him about Caleb’s Hope. I spent 20 minutes psyching myself up for it, thinking, “oh, I can just talk to him at the table later,” but then, it wouldn’t have spread the awareness of the charity to anyone else. So, I bit the bullet and went up to the mic, my heart pounding in my chest the whole way. When I got up there and told him that I was a volunteer, he was enthusiastic about that, and was totally happy to talk about the charity – he did a much better job than I would have done, and thanked me for bringing it up. 300 more fans now know about the charity. Mission accomplished!

I got two photoshoots done, one with Enver, and one with Fran. The Fran one turned out better than the one with Enver, but I do like both. Been getting a lot of compliments over the Fran one, which is truly making me beam. ^.^

The party was good, after the costume competition. They started playing all the usual club music, so we were dancing at the table, messing around. Then, you know the Kiki dance that Enver did (in 2×03)? He actually dances like that, WE GOT HIM TO DANCE. It was so awesome!! We were all up dancing with him, it was brilliant 😀

My Sunday basically consisted of 5 hours of talks, which were all awesome. Dichen got us off to a steady start, then there was a talk with Enver and Fran, which was rather funny. Miracle and Tahmoh had one together, and they have such good chemistry together, they look like really good friends. Then the group one with all of them… oh my God. There are no words to describe how funny that talk was. I cried with laughter, and came out with an aching face I’d laughed and grinned so much. There was a particularly funny story with Tahmoh and these sock things they have to wear for nudity scenes. He said that it kept getting filled up with water… and I’ll leave the rest to your imaginations.

So, in like a sort of conclusion, this has probably been one of the best weekends of my life, and probably the best convention I’ve ever been to. I’m going to miss chatting to all the lovely people I met this weekend and I’m going to miss the actor’s hilarious stories.

I am not, however, going to miss eating Mac Donald’s every night.

Fin.

I sat through all the talks at the weekend, so if you have any questions that you think the actor’s might have answered, ask away, and I shall answer as best I can 😀

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

