Nervous Chuckle

18 03 2010

I’m sort of surprised that I haven’t found a single thing to post about in the last six months. Yes, six. I think it’s because I had too much going on. Let’s start from the beginning.

I started Uni again back at the beginning of October and I have to say that it’s going SO much better this time. It’s getting close to the end of the second term and I’m still as focused as ever. As well as Media, Film and Cultural Studies, I’m taking Marketing (which can be hard, but gratifying), and Universe as an Art, which I wanted to take last time round. I’m getting good grades, all 2:1’s and 1st’s, making friends, and having a good time. I’m really enjoying myself, which is a big change from last year.

Living off campus has a big part to do with this me thinks. Despite the traffic waking me up in the early morn, and the random drunk people that stray past the house late at night, it’s a pretty good house, and I fell in with Emily’s (my house mate’s) friendship group, which has been really fun. Pudding partys, meals out… definitely all to the good.

However, a couple of weeks into my first term, my Granddad passed away. I willingly admit that I wasn’t the closest with my Grandparents, but I did love my Granddad; I have fond memories of watching The Pink Panther videos over and over again, and having paper airplane fights from behind the living room sofa’s and armchairs. May he rest in peace.

It shook me up quite a bit. We hadn’t had a death in the family before and I wasn’t ready for it at all because is was a sudden death. Also, I’d only just started my new course, I was trying to get used to the larger amount of work I had this time round, and it sent me into a tail spin which took me a break out of. There was all other sorts of drama going on at the same time which wasn’t helping.

There was a ray of light though. And his name is Alex. I’ve told him before, but I was so appreciative of him in those weeks. We’d met at the beginning of term at one of the hiking socials, and then again through Emily (and her boyfriend, Luke), then we started bumping into each other on the bus. He made me laugh so much, it really brightened my day. Then, towards the end of term, he asked me out. And we’ve been going out since. 🙂

I’ve been doing pretty well with losing weight, what with eating smaller meals and doing more walking up and down the hills around town. I’ve nearly lost one stone, which I’m pretty proud of. 8 more lbs and I’ll be down to my ideal weight, and will hopefully have dropped a size in trousers (I already have in tops).

After hardly anything happening with Caleb’s Hope for a long while, we’re now in the midst of a flurry of activity! We’ve had nine new volunteers officially sign themselves up as supporters of our cause: Patrick Gallagher, Carly Pope, Emilie Ullerup, Kyle Cassie, Brandy Kopp, David Kopp, Tara Spencer-Nairn, Gabrielle Miller, and Alana Husband. We’re also working to get the website revamped, as it’s been needing to be done up for a year now. It’s also been a year since I joined Caleb’s Hope, which is amazing to think. This last year has gone by so quickly!

Whilst I’m on the subject of Caleb’s Hope, I’ve added a new link to the sidebar of this journal: Annabelle Choi is completing an internship with Caleb’s Hope as a designer. I’ve seen some of her designs, and they’re looking really good! Please, show your support and watch her journal to see her designs.

Lastly, after discussions about accommodation and travelling, I decided to go to ECHO-1, a Dollhouse convention! The current guests are Tahmoh Penikett, Mark Sheppard, Dichen Lachman, Fran Kranz, and Miracle Laurie. So excited to meet every single one of them. And, I will be meeting Bertha, a fellow CH e-Team member who really makes me laugh, and reads my essays for me to check that they make sense 😉

Also, I have a GOLD ticket. GOOOOLLDDD!! I’ve never bought a gold ticket before, because they’ve been too expensive. But as I’m saving over £100 on accommodation, and Bertha has one, I figured, why not? I get to sit at the front, go to the meet and greet, and get photos with each of the cast. Man. I have to keep pinching myself. I haven’t been this excited about the convention in a long time.

That’s all I’ve got for now! Hopefully it won’t be as long until my next post.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

