A Sad Truth

19 04 2009

**Disclaimer — All views expressed in this post are my opinion, and my opinion alone. I have researched none of this, and I’m not claiming any of this to be fact.

This is the sad truth:

No matter how many wonderful, charming, friendly people I meet or talk to in a day, there will always be several wankers to accompany them.

Slowly, but surely, I’m losing my faith in the human race, and it’s not just because of one thing. Every day, I meet at least one person who is inconsiderate, rude, egotistical, petty, or just an all around swine.

And that’s really sad.

In all honesty, I think there’s truth to something like my Mum likes to say, and also something covered in a way in Battlestar Galactica: if we hadn’t evolved past the evolutionary state we like to call cavemen, our lives would be so much simpler, and quite possibly more fulfilling.

I’m not saying there are people now who don’t ge a lot, or all that they want out of life, but if you look back, how many problems did the cavemen have? They didn’t have to worry about trivial things like how many calories are in their food so they don’t put on weight, whether they are going to get good marks on their final exams, working towards a promotion at work and not getting it, anything like that.

And, sure, there might have been alpha male types, and possibly a few scraps over leadership or food, but they didn’t call each other names, stab people in the back, beat people to a pulp sometimes just for the hell of it, or even commit murder out of a sinister need.

I’ve always said, there is nothing that I would go back and change, ever, in my life or anyone else’s, and I wouldn’t change it for this either. It’s not ever about going back and changing your mistakes so they never happened, it’s about learning from your mistakes and moving on.

There is still a small part of me that believes this human race can learn from it’s mistakes and move on. I only hope it is before it is too late.

Actions

Information

10 responses

19 04 2009
Abi

*hugs*

I lost my faith in the human race along time ago, the only way I’ve found to stop getting screwed over is to stop caring at all.

I’m not sure the human race wants to learn from it’s mistakes. At the end of the day, it’s in everybody’s DNA to be selfish and people will only do what works out best for them. The sad truth of this world.

Hope you manage to get past it and don’t end up a cynical b**** like me though lol.

19 04 2009
Becky L

“I’m not saying there are people now who don’t ge a lot, or all that they want out of life, but if you look back, how many problems did the cavemen have?”

Well, there were the large carniovorous animals trying to eat them and the dependance on fluctuating food sources that could potentially starve them to death. Not to mention a noted lack of things like indoor plumbing, advanced healthcare, doctors who used antiseptic instead of magic bones, heated water, computers, the internet, books, transportation other than walking, pets and good dental care. And chocolate, apart from Aztec cavemen.

“And, sure, there might have been alpha male types, and possibly a few scraps over leadership or food, but they didn’t call each other names, stab people in the back, beat people to a pulp sometimes just for the hell of it, or even commit murder out of a sinister need.”

I have difficulty believing that humans transmutated into bastards AFTER they started to invent agriculture.

19 04 2009
rsthomas90

Abi: LOL, I already am cynical, it’s too late for that. I guess it’s the single, individual people that make the world worthwhile.

Becky: “Not to mention a noted lack of things like indoor plumbing, advanced healthcare, doctors who used antiseptic instead of magic bones, heated water, computers, the internet, books, transportation other than walking, pets and good dental care. And chocolate, apart from Aztec cavemen.”

They didn’t know those sorts of things existed, so they were fine without.

Agriculture had nothing to do with it, personality and thought happened, and it all went downhill from there.

BTW, how are you?

19 04 2009
Becky L

“They didn’t know those sorts of things existed, so they were fine without.”

Blissfully ignorant, I would say. But not fine. Fine would imply a lack of need for things like painkillers and antiseptic, which I’m sure a caveman would have wished for after being bitten on the arse by his proto-clothing 😛

“Agriculture had nothing to do with it, personality and thought happened, and it all went downhill from there.”

Personality and thought were significantly present in cavemen, I understand (I know I’m being vociferous about this, but I’ve heard it way too many times from various hippy-wannabes and it really annoys me. Especially since its modernity that I have to thank for the continued life of one of my parents).

“BTW, how are you?”

As above. I still have both parents, although one of them seems to be fluctuating. Some days good, some days bad. Also back at uni, which means… Oh Christ on a crapper… exams O.O

19 04 2009
rsthomas90

Fair enough.

And good luck with the exams.

Housing… sucks. I still haven’t found anything. Is there any chance that you can ask the University for help at all?

19 04 2009
Becky L

What happened to the one’s we visited? And I have no idea, although I can ask.

20 04 2009
rsthomas90

IDK, I’m not sure whether they’re still available.

20 04 2009
Becky L

Do you have the guy’s phone number? They weren’t great but they were better than nothing.

20 04 2009
rsthomas90

I think I’d only be willing to go for the second house, the one opposite Booths.

Telephone: 01524 66444
Mobile: 07833 636496

20 04 2009
Becky L

Okay, I’ll see if they’re still available.

Leave a Reply

